

LSU Faculty Senate Meeting

3:00 pm, Jan 24, 2024 Dalton Woods Auditorium, Coast and Environment

Approved Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance: P=Present
Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) A=Absent

Name	Position	College	Attendance	
Inessa Bazayev	President	Music & Dramatic Arts	P	
Mandi Lopez	Past President	Veterinary Medicine	A	
Daniel Tirone	Vice President	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	
Parampreet Singh	Secretary	Science	Р	
Kyla Kazuschyk	Member-at-Large	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р	
Michelle Osborn	Member-at-Large	Veterinary Medicine	A	
Kevin Ringelman	Member-at-Large	Agriculture	Р	

Senators

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Achyut Adhika r i	Agriculture	A	Robert Mann	Mass Communication	A
Priscilla Allen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Paul Manthei	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Kayanush Aryana	Agriculture	A	Sarah Mathews	Science	Р
Scott Baldridge	Science	Alternate: Charles Delzell	Carmela Mattza	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture	Р	Marcia Newcomer	Science	Alternate: Yong-Hwan Lee
John Bardes	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Wayne Newhauser	Science	A
Estanislado Barrera	Human Sciences and Education	Alternate: Julie Rollins	Michelle Osborn	Veterinary Medicine	A

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Gerald Baumgartner	Engineering	Р	Patricia Queiroz- Williams	Veterinary Medicine	A
Brett Boutwell	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	Leonard Ray	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
James Canfield	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Molly Redfield	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р
Yan Chen	Agriculture	А	Jeffrey Roland	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
John Church	Law Center	Р	Sarah Peppin Rosser	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Fabio Del Piero	Veterinary Medicine	Р	Rosemary Peters-Hill	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Ray Diamond	Law Center	Р	Michael Russo	LSU Libraries	Alternate: Nicollete Davis
Kerry Dooley	Engineering	Р	Subramaniam Sathivel	Agriculture	A
Thomas Douthat	Coast and Environment	Р	Ingmar Schoegl	Engineering	Р
Hallie Dozier	Agriculture	A	Edward Shihadeh	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
Mehdi Farasat	Engineering	Р	Parampreet Singh	Science	Р
Matthew Freeman	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Paul Soto	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Lisa Fultz	Agriculture	A	Brenton Stewart	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Meredith Gaglio	Art and Design	A	Chao Sun	Engineering	Р
Janene Grodesky	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Michelle Todd	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Roy Heidelberg	Business	Р	Mayank Tyagi	Engineering	Р
Achim Herrmann	Science	A	Jim Van Scotter	Business	A
Matthew Hiatt	Coast and Environment	Р	Adriano Vatta	Veterinary Medicine	A
Ryan Hulteen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Paulo Waltrich	Engineering	A
Catherine Jacquet	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Cathy Williams	Agriculture	A
Karim Johari	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Jianan Wu	Business	A
Kayla Kazuschyk	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р	Yejun Wu	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Revati Kumar	Science	A	Alison Zhou	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Tracy LeBlanc	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Jun Zou	Art and Design	Р
Joseph Legoria	Business	A			
Kenneth Lopata	Science	P			
James Madden	Science	P			

Guests

Name	Position	Attendance	Name	Position	Attendance
Jacqueline Bach	Vice Provost	Р	Todd Manuel	Vice President of Engagement, Civil Rights and Title IX	Р
Jennfer Baumgartner	Faculty Chair, CxC	Р	William F. Tate IV	President	Р
Jane Cassidy	Senior Vice Provost	Р	Stanley Wilder	Dean, Libraries	Р
Roy Haggerty	Provost	Р	Craig Woolley	Chief Information Officer	Р
Michelle Livermore	School of Social Work	Р			

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate convened at 3:02 pm on Jan 24, 2024, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium at the LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. President Bazayev announced alternates and introduced guest speakers of the meeting which included LSU President William F. Tate IV, Senior Vice Provost Jane Cassidy, Vice Provost Jackie Bach, Chief Information Officer Craig Woolley and Vice President of Engagement, Civil Rights and Title IX Todd Manuel. There were no public comments on the agenda items. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted by a vote following a motion by Hiatt.

In her report, President Bazayev provided following updates: (i) Several faculty members have expressed concerns on renaming of the Division of Inclusion, Civil Rights and Title IX to the Division of Engagement, Civil Rights and Title IX which were announced in an email on Jan 5th. In a meeting on Jan 9th, LSU President Tate met with President Bazayev, Vice President Tirone and Secretary Singh to discuss this change. President Bazayev emphasized that words matter, and the Faculty Senate remains committed to fostering an inclusive atmosphere at the campus; (ii) As the Chair of the Council of Faculty Advisors, President Bazayev presented a summary report from our campus at the Board of Supervisors Meeting at LSU Health New Orleans. The meeting was also attended by Vice President Tirone; (iii) FSEC is working with the Student Government to address issues concerning students' attendance; (iv) Following Faculty Senate Resolution 23-05, Staff Senate has passed a similar resolution on a one-time switch from ORP to TRSL. Legislation plans to file a bill for this change in the coming days; (v) College policy committees play an important role in shared governance and faculty members are advised to familiarize themselves with bylaws and rules of these committees.

The next item on the agenda was a presentation on the Faculty Survey on Education Technology. Vice Provost Jackie Bach and Chief Information Officer Craig Woolley along with Secretary Singh gave an update on the timeline. The survey was designed with input from the ad hoc Faculty Senate IT Committee and EdTech subcommittee of ITGC. The survey will be launched in early February.

Senior Vice Provost Jane Cassidy provided updates on the timeline of the SACSCOC reaccreditation process. This was followed by a presentation by Jennifer Baumgartner who is Faculty Chair, LSU Communication across the Curriculum on Quality Enhancement Plan. Under this plan all undergraduate students at LSU have access to communication-intensive classes and learning support services.

President Bazayev then welcomed LSU President William F. Tate IV and Vice President of Engagement, Civil Rights and Title IX Todd Manuel. LSU President Tate thanked FSEC for its leadership and working productively with the administration on various issues. In an extensive discussion on renaming of the Division of Inclusion, Civil Rights and Title IX to the Division of Engagement, Civil Rights and Title IX, LSU President Tate explained that Engagement will include (i) Leadership development; (ii) Career readiness and workforce development; (iii) First-year experience, college readiness and mentoring; (iv) Health, safety and wellness. Various senators expressed concerns that faculty were not engaged by the administration in the above renaming process. LSU President Tate assured faculty that above renaming will not affect the research and educational mission of LSU and that the administration stands behind protecting academic freedom. He also stressed that our actions should be legally defensible. News reports of this discussion and comments by various faculty senators appeared in the Advocate, LSU Reveille, and Louisiana Illuminator.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:42 pm following a motion by Mattza. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Parampreet Singh, Secretary