

LSU Faculty Senate Meeting

3:00 pm, Oct 11, 2023

Dalton Woods Auditorium, Coast and Environment

Approved Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance: Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) P=Present A=Absent

Name	Position	College	Attendance
Inessa Bazayev	President	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р
Mandi Lopez	Past President	Veterinary Medicine	А
Daniel Tirone	Vice President	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Parampreet Singh	Secretary	Science	Р
Kyla Kazuschyk	Member-at-Large	Music & Dramatic Arts	А
Michelle Osborn	Member-at-Large	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Kevin Ringelman	Member-at-Large	Agriculture	Р

Senators

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Achyut Adhikari	Agriculture	А	Robert Mann	Mass Communication	А
Priscilla Allen	Human Sciences and Education	А	Paul Manthei	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Kayanush Aryana	Agriculture	Р	Sarah Mathews	Science	Р
Scott Baldridge	Science	Alternate: Charles Delzell	Carmela Mattza	Humanities and Social Sciences	Alternate: Dorota Heneghan
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture	А	Marcia Newcomer	Science	Alternate: Yong-Hwan Lee
John Bardes	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Wayne Newhauser	Science	А
Estanislado Barrera	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Michelle Osbo r n	Veterinary Medicine	Р

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Gerald Baumgartner	Engineering	Alternate: Rahul Shah	Patricia Queiroz- Williams	Veterinary Medicine	А
Brett Boutwell	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	Leonard Ray	Humanities and Social Sciences	А
James Canfield	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Molly Redfield	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р
Yan Chen	Agriculture	р	Jeffrey Roland	Humanities and Social Sciences	Alternate: Lauren Griffin
John Church	Law Center	А	Sarah Peppin Rosser	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Fabio Del Piero	Veterinary Medicine	А	Rosemary Peters-Hill	Humanities and Social Sciences	А
Ray Diamond	Law Center	А	Michael Russo	LSU Libraries	Р
Kerry Dooley	Engineering	Р	Subramaniam Sathivel	Agriculture	Р
Thomas Douthat	Coast and Environment	Р	Ingmar Schoegl	Engineering	Р
Hallie Dozier	Agriculture	А	Edward Shihadeh	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Mehdi Farasat	Engineering	Р	Parampreet Singh	Science	Р
Matthew Freeman	Humanities and Social Sciences	А	Jon Snow	Humanities and Scoial Sciences (AAAS)	Р
Lisa Fultz	Agriculture	Р	Paul Soto	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Meredith Gaglio	Art and Design	А	Brenton Stewart	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Janene Grodesky	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Chao Sun	Engineering	Р
Roy Heidelberg	Business	Alternate: Min Su	Michelle Todd	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Achim Herrmann	Science	Р	Mayank Tyagi	Engineering	Alternate: Yuanhang Chen
Matthew Hiatt	Coast and Environment	Р	Jim Van Scotter	Business	А
Ryan Hulteen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Adriano Vatta	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Karim Johari	Humanities and Social Sciences	А	Paulo Waltrich	Engineering	Р
Kayla Kazuschyk	Music & Dramatic Arts	Alternate: Vanessa Uhlig	Cathy Williams	Agriculture	Р
Revati Kumar	Science	Alternate: Robert Cook	Jianan Wu	Business	А
Tracy LeBlanc	Humanities and Social Sciences	А	Yejun Wu	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Joseph Legoria	Business	Alternate: Dana Hollie	Alison Zhou	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Kenneth Lopata	Science	Р	Jun Zou	Art and Design	Р
James Madden	Science	Р			

Guests

Name	Position	Attendance	Name	Position	Attendance
Jackie Bach	Vice Provost of Academic Support Services	Р	Ryan Landry	Asst. Vice Provost	Р
Calvin Feldt	Student Government	Р	Arend Van Gemmert	Assoc. Dean CHSE	Р
Roy Haggerty	Provost	Р	Dayton White	Asst. Dean College of Business	Р

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate convened at 3:03 pm on Oct 11, 2023, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium at LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. President Bazayev introduced Calvin Feldt from the Student Government. There were no public comments on the agenda items. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted unanimously following a motion by Snow.

In her report, President Bazayev mentioned that FSEC has initiated discussions with Enrollment Management to improve students' experiences especially in the first year. Bazayev and Vice Provost Jackie Bach will co-chair a committee for this purpose. FSEC is in discussions with the Pinkie Gordon Lane Graduate School on graduate student evaluations mandated by PS-21. FSEC has been in discussions with the Student Government on the latter's initiative to create a syllabus database. FSEC has been contacted by the Office of Academic Affairs on the proposed revision of PS-36T to address the classification of online teaching of courses. The Faculty Senate would elect members to three Standing Committees: Budget and Planning Advisory Committee, Faculty Adjudication Committee and the Faculty Appeals Board. A luncheon for the Chairs of the Standing Committees was held on 10/3/23 in which Bazayev and Singh made presentations on operating procedures and guidance on minutes of the meetings using Robert's Rules.

The next item of business was elections to Standing Committees of the Faculty Senate. Osborn moved to hold elections for the Budget and Planning Advisory Committee, Faculty Adjudication Committee and the Faculty Appeals Board. Motion passed unanimously. President Bazayev gave a presetation on the charge of above committees and discussed the slate of candidates. There were no nominations from the floor. Robert Cook, Dana Hollie and J. Michael Martinez were elected unopposed to the Budget and Planning advisory Committee. Jeanne Donaldson and Mayank Tyagi were elected unopposed to the Faculty Adjudication Committee. Grace Barry, Gabriella Lindsay, Marcio de Queiroz, James Sauls and Chad Seifried were elected unopposed to Faculty Appeals Board.

Vice President Tirone then discussed the revision of PS-36T as requested by the Office of Academic Affairs. Tirone moved to insert the phrase "regardless of modality" following "contributions to the teaching mission" in the first sentence of section D.2.a. Illustrative Examples of Teaching Contributions in Policy Statement 36-T. Following a discussion, Canfield offered a secondary motion to refer the question of how to update PS-36T and PS-36NT to accommodate online instruction to an ad hoc committee of five faculty and ex-officio members from the Office of Academic Affairs and requested they provide recommendations to the Senate by early Spring. Snow offered an amendment that this matter be referred to the Policy Committee rather than an ad hoc committee. In the discussion, Snow confirmed in his capacity as the Chair of Policy Committee that for this matter representative(s) who are familiar with

online teaching can be included as ex-officio member(s). The proposed amendment to the motion to refer the matter to committee passed by a majority vote, and the amended motion to refer also passed by majority vote.

President Bazayev then introduced Calvin Feldt from Student Government who gave a presentation on expanding the existing syllabus database and how it can help students. In the subsequent discussion, various senators discussed on the scope and viability of this complex exercise, including concerns on cost, and the extensive work involved, and advised wider consultation and patience in the process. The Faculty Senate plans a joint committee of faculty and students to consider this matter and it is anticipated that the committee will use the feedback provided in the meeting as part of their deliberations.

The meeting was adjourned at 4:07 pm following a motion by Snow. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Parampreet Singh, Secretary