

LSU Faculty Senate Meeting

3:00 pm, Nov 2, 2023 Dalton Woods Auditorium, Coast and Environment

Approved Minutes of the Meeting

Attendance: P=Present
Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) A=Absent

Name	Position	College	Attendance	
Inessa Bazayev	President	Music & Dramatic Arts	P	
Mandi Lopez	Past President	Veterinary Medicine	A	
Daniel Tirone	Vice President	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	
Parampreet Singh	Secretary	Science	Р	
Kyla Kazuschyk	Member-at-Large	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р	
Michelle Osborn	Member-at-Large	Veterinary Medicine	Р	
Kevin Ringelman	Member-at-Large	Agriculture	Р	

Senators

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Achyut Adhikari	Agriculture	A	Robert Mann	Mass Communication	Р
Priscilla Allen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Paul Manthei	Human Sciences and Education	P
Kayanush Aryana	Agriculture	P	Sarah Mathews	Science	Р
Scott Baldridge	Science	A	Carmela Mattza	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture	Р	Marcia Newcomer	Science	Р
John Bardes	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Wayne Newhauser	Science	A
Estanislado Barrera	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Michelle Osborn	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Gerald Baumgartner	Engineering	Alternate: Rahul Shah	Patricia Queiroz- Williams	Veterinary Medicine	A

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Brett Boutwell	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	Leonard Ray	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
James Canfield	Human Sciences and Education	A	Molly Redfield	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р
Yan Chen	Agriculture	Alternate: Jennifer Blanchard	Jeffrey Roland	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
John Church	Law Center	P	Sarah Peppin Rosser	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
Fabio Del Piero	Veterinary Medicine	P	Rosemary Peters-Hill	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Ray Diamond	Law Center	P	Michael Russo	LSU Libraries	P
Kerry Dooley	Engineering	A	Subramaniam Sathivel	Agriculture	Р
Thomas Douthat	Coast and Environment	P	Ingmar Schoegl	Engineering	Р
Hallie Dozier	Agriculture	Alternate: Heather Kirk-Ballard	Edward Shihadeh	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Mehdi Farasat	Engineering	A	Parampreet Singh	Science	P
Matthew Freeman	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Paul Soto	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Lisa Fultz	Agriculture	Alternate: Ed Bush	Brenton Stewart	Human Sciences and Education	A
Meredith Gaglio	Art and Design	P	Chao Sun	Engineering	P
Janene Grodesky	Human Sciences and Education	Alternate: Dan Yost	Michelle Todd	Human Sciences and Education	A
Roy Heidelberg	Business	P	Mayank Tyagi	Engineering	A
Achim Herrmann	Science	Alternate: Jon Snow	Jim Van Scotter	Business	A
Matthew Hiatt	Coast and Environment	P	Adriano Vatta	Veterinary Medicine	P
Ryan Hulteen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Paulo Waltrich	Engineering	Р
Karim Johari	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Cathy Williams	Agriculture	Р
Kayla Kazuschyk	Music & Dramatic Arts	P	Jianan Wu	Business	A
Revati Kumar	Science	P	Yejun Wu	Human Sciences and Education	A
Tracy LeBlanc	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Alison Zhou	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
Joseph Legoria	Business	P	Jun Zou	Art and Design	P
Kenneth Lopata	Science	A			
James Madden	Science	A			

Guests

Name	Position	Attendance	Name	Position	Attendance
Jane Cassidy	Senior Vice Provost	Р	Dannielle Jeffcourt	Staff Senate	Р
Calvin Feldt	Student Government	P	Chad Seifried	CHSE	P
Blake Howe	Music and Dramatic Arts	P	Arend Van Gemmert	Assoc. Dean CHSE	P

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate convened at 3:04 pm on Nov 2, 2023, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium at LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. President Bazayev introduced guests Chad Seifried, Chair of the Faculty Appeals Board and Blake Howe, Chair of the Faculty Adjudication Committee. There were no public comments on the agenda items. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted by a vote following a motion by Shihadeh.

In her report, President Bazayev mentioned that Vice-President Tirone presented the report from LSU A&M campus at the Board of Supervisors meeting on Oct 20, 2023 and highlighted various faculty achievements and noted a very positive perception of faculty by Lousiaina residents in a public survey. Bazayev recently attended SEC Leadership Program and had discussions with colleagues from Florida and Texas who are undergoing a lot of difficulties with academic freedom and tenure protection. She mentioned that the Faculty Senate leadership is fully committed to protect faculty interests against above issues which are affecting various states. The LSU administration was noted as an ally which supports faculty interests. Bazayev also presented updates on the Joint Committee on Student Success, Faculty Handbook, Policy revision procedure and graduate student evaluations.

The next item of business was elections to the Faculty Appeals Board. Osborn moved to hold the elections. Passed unanimously. Priscilla Allen was the only nomination and there were no nominations from the floor. Allen was elected unopposed to the Faculty Appeals Board.

Bazayev then introduced the first guest of the meeting, Chad Seifried from Human Sciences and Education who in capacity as the Chair of Faculty Appeals Board spoke on the role and scope of this committee. Senators had an extensive discussion on improving the charge and procedures of the committee.

Bazayev introduced Blake Howe as the second guest of the meeting who chairs the Faculty Adjudication Committee. Howe gave a detailed presentation on the role and procedures of this committee. In the discussion senators noted its importance of being driven for faculty interests and procedural differences from the Faculty Appeals Board.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:44 pm following a motion by Snow. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Parampreet Singh, Secretary