

LSU Faculty Senate Meeting

3:00 pm, August 28, 2023 Dalton Woods Auditorium, Coast and Environment

Attendance: P=Present
Faculty Senate Executive Committee (FSEC) A=Absent

FSEC Member	Position	College	Attendance
Inessa Bazayev	President	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р
Mandi Lopez	Past President	Veterinary Clinical Sciences	Р
Daniel Tirone	Vice President	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Parampreet Singh	Secretary	Science	Р
Kyla Kazuschyk	Member-at-Large	Music & Dramatic Arts	Р
Kevin Ringelman	Member-at-Large	Agriculture	Р

Senators

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Achyut Adhikari	Agriculture	Р	Robert Mann	Mass Communication	Р
Priscilla Allen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Paul Manthei	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Kayanush Aryana	Agriculture	Р	Sarah Mathews	Science	A
Scott Baldridge	Science	Р	Carmela Mattza	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Maria Bampasidou	Agriculture	Р	Marcia Newcomer	Science	Alternate: Yong Lee
John Bardes	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Wayne Newhauser	Science	P
Estanislado Barrera	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Michelle Osborne	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Gerald Baumgartner	Engineering	Alternate: Rahul Shah	Patricia Queiroz- Williams	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Brett Boutwell	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р	Leonard Ray	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
James Canfield	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Molly Redfield	Music and Dramatic Arts	Р

Name	College	Attendance	Name	College	Attendance
Yan Chen	Agriculture	Р	Jeffrey Roland	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
John Church	Law Center	A	Sarah Peppin Rosser	Humanities and Social Sciences	A
Fabio Del Piero	Veterinary Medicine	A	Michael Russo	LSU Libraries	Р
Ray Diamond	Law Center	Alternate: Nikolas Davrados	Subramaniam Sathivel	Agriculture	Р
Kerry Dooley	Engineering	Р	Ingmar Schoegl	Engineering	Р
Thomas Douthat	Coast and Environment	Р	Edward Shihadeh	Humanities and Social Sciences	P
Mehdi Farasat	Engineering	Р	Parampreet Singh	Science	Р
Matthew Freeman	Humanities and Social Sciences	A	Paul Soto	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Lisa Fultz	Agriculture	Р	Brenton Stewart	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Meredith Gaglio	Art and Design	Р	Chao Sun	Engineering	Р
Janene Grodesky	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Michelle Todd	Human Sciences and Education	Р
Roy Heidelberg	Business	Р	Mayank Tyagi	Engineering	Р
Achim Herrmann	Science	Р	Jim Van Scotter	Business	A
Matthew Hiatt	Coast and Environment	Alternate: Cassie Glaspie	Adriano Vatta	Veterinary Medicine	Р
Ryan Hulteen	Human Sciences and Education	Р	Paulo Waltrich	Engineering	A
Karim Johari	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р	Cathy Williams	Agriculture	Р
Kayla Kazuschyk	Music & Dramatic Arts	P	Jianan Wu	Business	A
Revati Kumar	Science	Р	Alison Zhou	Humanities and Social Sciences	Р
Tracy LeBlanc	Humanities and Social Sciences	P	Jun Zou	Art and Design	Р
Joseph Legoria	Business	Alternate: Ken Reichelt			
Kenneth Lopata	Science	Р			
James Madden	Science	P			

Guests

Name	Position	Attendance	Name	Position	Attendance
Jackie Bach	Vice Provost of Academic Support Services	Р	Jonathan Sanders	Director SAA	P
Jane Cassidy	Sr. Vice Provost	P	Tiffany Willis	Case Manager SAA	P
Brandon Common	Interim Vice President for Student Affairs	P	Kyrsti Wyatt	Asst. Director SAA	P
Roy Haggerty	Provost	P			

A regular meeting of the Faculty Senate convened at 3:04 pm on Aug 28, 2023, at the Dalton Woods Auditorium at LSU campus, the President being the Chair and Secretary being present. There were no public comments. The minutes of the last meeting were adopted unanimously following a motion by Roland.

President Bazayev presented her report listing various activities and achievements of the Faculty Senate since April 2023. She thanked the ad hoc FS IT committee for its work over the summer on revision of IT policies and standards. She discussed activities of the working group on AI constituted by the Office of Academic Affairs and various related resources sent via a broadcast mail to the faculty. On request of FSEC, Academic Affairs is constituting a committee for a broader discussion on AI issues affecting all university business. She mentioned the role of FSEC in revising Faculty handbook in SACSCOC reaccreditation, curtailing and reinstatement of a Tiger Trails route by LSU Parking, Resolution 23-04 and increase in HSS instructor salaries, and the role of College Policy Committees. A large part of her report focused on the ongoing crisis in academic freedom and tenure across the country and its potential impact on Louisiana. She discussed long standing issues of faculty compensation and benefits at LSU, AAUP censures on LSU and the ongoing work of the Faculty Senate leadership to remove these censures. Finally, she emphasized the importance of keeping the educational mission of LSU at the forefront by all stakeholders.

President Bazayev introduced Provost Roy Haggerty who gave his welcome remarks mainly focused on AI and ChatGPT. In the subsequent discussion, senators raised copyright issues and legal implications with AI, potential double standards in implementation and training of students, and whether LSU can provide a site-wide license for ChatGPT.

The only unfinished business from the previous meeting was Resolution 23-04 dealing with the proposed increase in HSS instructor salaries. In the discussion Singh stated that sponsors of the resolution have approached FSEC for more time given that HSS instructor salaries have been raised and moved "to postpone this business item to the next meeting." Passed unanimously.

There was no new business item in the meeting.

President Bazayev introduced Senior Vice Provost Jane Cassidy who presented a timeline on SACSCOC reaccreditation.

President Bazayev introduced Interim Vice President for Student Affairs Brandon Common and Director of Student Advocacy and Accountability Jonathan Sanders who gave a presentation on AI and academic integrity in the educational mission of LSU. In the following discussion senators noted difficult experiences with the Office of Student Advocacy and Accountability on plagiarism issues, and raised various concerns related to AI including integrity of AI detection tools and ethical issues.

The meeting was adjourned at 5:06 pm following a motion by Shihadeh. Passed unanimously.

Respectfully Submitted,

Parampreet Singh, Secretary