Congratulations to the 2023 LSU University Faculty Award Recipients

BATON ROUGE—Each year, LSU recognizes and awards faculty for their persistent dedication to research, education, and service. Of the 33 faculty being honored, six will represent the LSU College of Science. 

These individuals were recognized at an awards ceremony and reception on Tuesday, April 25, at the Lod Cook Alumni Center. 

“Congratulations to our award recipients. Our faculty are a significant part of what makes our college truly special, and I am grateful for their dedication to our students, their research, and the continued success of our college. It is important to recognize the roll our faculty play in continuing and building upon the legacy of scholarship, innovation, and excellence of our students and college for years to come,” said LSU College of Science Dean Cynthia Peterson. 

Here are this year’s LSU College of Science recipients:

LSU Distinguished Faculty Award:

Phillip Sprunger, Department of Physics & Astronomy  


LSU Alumni Association Faculty Excellence Award:

Gerald Schneider, Department of Chemistry


LSU Alumni Association Rising Faculty Research Award:

SeYeon Chung, Department of Biological Sciences  


H.M. "Hub" Cotton Award for Faculty:

Andrew Maverick, Department of Chemistry  


Communication across the Curriculum Outstanding Faculty Award:

Darrell Henry, Department of Geology & Geophysics


University College Alumni Association Teaching Assistant Award:

James Dylan Douthitt, LSU Department of Mathematics 

For a full list of recipients, visit: